A blog for those who enjoy going barefoot and living the barefoot lifestyle. Read about the joys of barefooting and why it's fun, cool, and healthy. Includes personal stories about going barefoot in public places such malls, stores, restaurants, school/college, and workplace.
How to bribe a barefoot girl by Sharleen W.L. If you have read the story titled "Barefoot Sisters" you would know that in the beginning mom was so opposed to her kids going barefoot in public places, but she later gave in and allowed Tania and me to do so. The following took place in my early days of barefooting in public when I was in elementary school. I was the only barefooter in the grocery store that night It was 9:30pm on a Wednesday when dad was away on business. My oldest brother and sisters were still busy doing homework and studying, and my little brother was already in bed. I just got done with all my homework. I had karate class earlier in the evening, and so I took a shower when I got home. Btw, I got punished in class with doing lots of push-ups (I was joking around with another kid and wasn't paying attention to the instructor), so now I was a bit tired and sleepy. I was planning to go to bed a little earlier but wanted to kinda unwind first. So I ...
Get link
Facebook
X
Pinterest
Email
Other Apps
Translate This Blog
Going barefoot - the basics
Get link
Facebook
X
Pinterest
Email
Other Apps
by Jonathan Y
Going barefoot is fun and healthy
Going barefoot, even in public, is not against the law. You probably know that already; but did you know that it's also conducive to a healthier and happier life? Read on to find out how.
Bare your feet and live life to the fullest!
Here are some of the most common concerns people have about going barefoot.
Health concerns
Afraid to get your feet dirty? Of course, your feet are gonna get dirty if you walk barefoot outside your house but that's part of the fun. Believe it or not, quite a few barefooters (myself included) think it's fun and cool to have dirty feet. And if you don't like it you can always wash them as often as you like throughout the day which is no big deal.
Now compare that to wearing shoes all day long. If your feet sweat, at the end of the day you (and whoever else is near you) probably won't be able to stand the smell. Yuck! And how often do you actually wash your shoes? Not very often I bet, 'cos you would ruin them. So the inside of your $h0*s (yes, it's a dirty word to us barefooters :p) becomes a culture medium for all sorts of bacteria and fungi (germs) which love warm, moist, and dark places! So do you now see why going barefoot is actually healthier?
What about "athlete's foot?" Some say you get it by walking barefoot in locker rooms. Well, what happens is most people put on their $h0*s before leaving the locker room. So whatever fungus your bare soles picked up will thrive inside your $h0es and cause problems. But if you were to remain barefoot the fungus won't last long in dry air.
Another concern I keep hearing is that you can get parasitic (e.g. worm) infection by walking barefoot outdoors. This mostly happens in under-developed countries where parasites abound and sanitation is very poor, and you walk around barefoot on soil contaminated with human feces. I know, gross! So if you live in a modern developed country this shouldn't be a concern.
While we're on the subject of health, I should also mention that most, if not all, of the foot problems caused by wearing shoes such as calluses, hammer toes, bunions, and other foot deformities can be prevented and alleviated by going barefoot. In addition, some people who have flat feet have noticed improvements after they go barefoot for a while.
Yet another health benefit of going barefoot is grounding or earthing. It's a relatively new discovery that connecting to the earth's natural energy by going barefoot (or some other methods) can help you live a healthy and balanced life. We won't go into details about it here, you can Google it if you're interested. But the bottom line is, going barefoot is healthy!
OK, moving on... Stepping on sharp objects. I have to admit this is a tough one. Everything carries a risk but many people are willing to take risks for the fun and thrill of doing certain things like bungee jumping, sky diving, mountain climbing, or car racing. The risk of dying or getting seriously hurt from stepping on sharp objects while walking barefoot is much, much less than that of the aforementioned activities.
First of all, after going barefoot on a regular basis for a while, your feet become tough; the skin of your soles grows thicker and more resistant to sharp objects that they most likely won't even penetrate. Second of all, a seasoned barefooter is usually more alert and sensitive to the surrounding that often times they "instinctively" avoid stepping on sharp objects and other harmful or yucky stuff like chemicals, bugs, animal doodoo, etc.
On the rare occasion that you do step on a sharp object and get hurt, it's really not that big a deal. You most likely won't die :) Just wash the wound clean with soap and water, alcohol, or other antiseptic solutions you have and then put on some antibiotic ointment and a band-aid to cover it. If it's a small cut, you most likely can continue walking barefoot with the band-aid on until it heals completely. Otherwise, you may have to put up with wearing sandals for a couple of days.
Disclaimer: I'm not a doctor, and I'm not giving you medical advice. The above is based on my personal experience and what I learned from various sources.
One very important thing is to keep your tetanus shots current. This is important even if you don't go barefoot regularly. Hey, even your finger could get cut doing manual things, right?
Let's take a little break and watch this short video about The Barefoot Book.
Social concerns
What about being ridiculed or looked down upon by others? Well firstly, there is nothing immoral, disgraceful, or even improper about going barefoot, even in public. It's not like you walk around with no clothes on. Your feet are bare and just like your hands, they are NOT private parts although some people like to think they are (it's their loss, though!). Going barefoot is not against any religion. In fact, some religions actually encourage it.
Secondly, while it's true that in many third world countries people are always barefoot because they can't afford shoes (that's actually one way they enjoy life despite their circumstances), there are places such as Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, most parts of Hawaii, and some parts of the Southern US where going barefoot in public is quite common and accepted.
People walking barefoot in public in New Zealand
These are not poor countries or regions, and folks walk around barefoot in public as a matter of personal choice, and others are ok with it. In Hawaii I very often see people driving nice cars and wearing nice clothes walk barefoot into stores. Besides, most homeless people actually wear something on their feet.
Now, what about being considered "crazy" for going barefoot in public? If by that you mean being eccentric or a little weird, so what? Most people have their own idiosyncrasies that make them different from others. Just look at the celebrities :) It's no big deal to be different and actually cool as long as you don't hurt anyone.
If by "crazy" you mean mentally ill, that's a little different. But how many barefoot mentally ill/disturbed people have you seen? Again, not very many I'm sure, as most of them wear shoes. I've heard stories of other barefooters being stopped by police because they went barefoot in public, not because it was illegal but the police just wanted to make sure they were "sane" and doing ok. Cool! :)
Lastly, who cares what others think anyway! It's just their opinion. There are gazillions of opinions in this world and if we let all of them dictate the way we live our lives we won't even last a day.
Even Sesame Street encourages you to set your piggies free which is great!
Legal concerns
Is it against the law to go barefoot in public? Absolutely not! At least not anywhere in the US. Those that say otherwise, are either totally ignorant or are lying to you to cover their own prejudices against bare feet. There is not even a health code that says you can't enter establishments barefoot. I'm sure you have seen signs posted at the door of stores saying you can't go in barefoot "By Order of The Health Department." That's a complete lie! You can check out the following link to verify that going barefoot is legal in the US.
I understand that establishments have the right to set their own rules as to how their customers should dress, like certain fancy restaurants require men to wear suit and tie but they don't say it's by order of the government! Therefore, they should not create "phantom laws" concerning bare feet! *They* should actually be prosecuted for using the government's name to lie!
But it's not all bad for there are barefoot-friendly stores that, believe it or not, have No Shoes, No Shirt, No Problem signs. In this particular story, the sign was seen on Kauai, Hawaii, but I have also seen something similar in Galveston, Texas. Too bad I didn't have a camera with me at the time. I wish there were more of them to counter the negative ones.
How to bribe a barefoot girl by Sharleen W.L. If you have read the story titled "Barefoot Sisters" you would know that in the beginning mom was so opposed to her kids going barefoot in public places, but she later gave in and allowed Tania and me to do so. The following took place in my early days of barefooting in public when I was in elementary school. I was the only barefooter in the grocery store that night It was 9:30pm on a Wednesday when dad was away on business. My oldest brother and sisters were still busy doing homework and studying, and my little brother was already in bed. I just got done with all my homework. I had karate class earlier in the evening, and so I took a shower when I got home. Btw, I got punished in class with doing lots of push-ups (I was joking around with another kid and wasn't paying attention to the instructor), so now I was a bit tired and sleepy. I was planning to go to bed a little earlier but wanted to kinda unwind first. So I ...
a barefoot girl's story going shopping with her strict religious mom by sharleen wl hi everyone, how's it going? this is a rather long post but a pretty fun story. so i want you to get comfortable. get your favorite drink, maybe play some soft music, be barefooted (if you aren't already), take off all your clo... oops, i'm getting carried away. i mean, you don't have to do that. unless your like me of course, lol. anyway, relax and enjoy! my dad is away on a business trip and my mom is home alone. so yesterday she called me and asked if i would wanna go shopping at the mall with her today (saturday). i love shopping so i said sure. she knows that i'm a barefooter and has kinda accepted the fact, so going barefoot to the mall with her shouldn't be an issue. i wake up a little earlier this morning cuz i wanna eat breakfast before going shopping. need the extra energy. the temperature this morning is 61 F which is cold for hawaii. i slept with my windows clos...
by sharleen wl does wearing just socks count as barefoot? i think most would agree the answer to that question is obvious. barefoot means just that - your feet are bare, i.e. they're not covered in any way. yet its quite surprising this question has come up more than once in the reddit barefoot sub (posted by different people). like wtf? so i replied with a similar question - does wearing just underwear count as naked? i mean your one step closer but not quite there yet. lol i believe this stems from the fact that many people aren't comfortable showing their bare feet. one of the posters even admitted to that. this in turn stems from the fact that many (especially in western countries with the exception of australia and new zealand perhaps) are conditioned to think that feet are like semi-private parts. it's improper/impolite to show them to others except in certain places like the beach or swimming pool. just like men being shirtless. so wearing just socks is like a steppi...
by sharleen wl so there have been like a number of discussions in the reddit barefoot sub about going barefoot and the asian culture. some of the popular questions have been like 'why don't you see very many asians go barefoot in public?' and 'what is it like to go barefoot in asia (or name a specific country)?' or 'i'm planning to go to (a specific asian country) and wanna know if i should go barefoot in public there.' as an asian girl i find this topic interesting. so lets talk about it a little. barefoot asian girl with filthy feet across many asian cultures, going barefoot is far more than a matter of comfort; it's a gesture rich with cultural meaning, spiritual symbolism, and centuries-old tradition. going barefoot as a sign of respect in countries like japan, korea, india, thailand, and much of southeast asia, removing one’s shoes before entering a home is a deeply ingrained custom. bare feet, or feet in socks or house slippers, are seen as...
by Tania WL If you have ever gone barefoot outdoors for any length of time, you know that getting your feet dirty is inevitable. Habitual barefooters can basically be classified into 2 groups: those who like having their feet dirty, and those who simply enjoy the freedom and the wonderful sensation of walking on different surfaces that going barefoot offers, but don't care for dirty feet. I belong to the former while my little sister Sharleen (a.k.a. Lynn), the latter. Getting your feet dirty is fun. To take it a step further, those who like dirty feet, especially guys, think they are attractive, and they get "excited" looking at them if you know what I mean (I have to be careful with my choice of words here in order to keep this blog family-friendly, lol). While I'm not one of them, I have to admit sometimes it's fun knowing that some guys have a time of their lives staring at my dirty soles. Well, I won't go much more into it as that's not what thi...
A barefoot girl story by Sharleen WL I just started college a few months ago and so far I'm loving it. There is so much more freedom than in high school and not the least is the ability to go to school barefoot. This article is an account of a typical Monday. Unlike many people, I love Mondays coz to me its the start of a brand new week full of opportunities, a new chapter in my book of life ready to be filled with exciting experiences and adventures. Its 7am and I wake up feeling refreshed after a good night's sleep. Actually I'm having a bad cold, so my nose is pretty stuffy but I feel rested nontheless and excited about the day ahead. After washing up and everything, I walk over to the game room to join the family for our morning meditation. Its dad's idea to meditate together every morning and everyone loves it. The only religious person in our family in mom who is Catholic. Dad is kinda new-agey, and all my siblings and I are atheists. But we all feel the ...
Comments
Post a Comment